

Jacob Blaustein Building 165 East 56 Street New York, NY 10022 T 212.751.4000 W ajc.org

January 20, 2017

John M. Shapiro President

David Harris
Chief Executive Officer
Edward and Sandra Meyer
Office of the CEO

Chair, Board of Governors Harriet P. Schleifer

Chair, Board of Trustees Matthew Bronfman

Officers

Matthew J. Coen Chair, Marketing and Communications

Henry Dubinsky
Chair, Audit Committee

Suzanne D. Jaffe
Treasurer/Secretary

Frank Linde
Associate Treasurer/
Budget Committee

Linda MirelsAssociate Chair,
Board of Trustees

Robert L. Newmark Chair, Leadership Development

Michael L. Tichnor
Chair, Regional Offices
Committee

Steven J. Wisch Associate Chair, Board of Trustees

Steven L. Zelkowitz Chair, Program Coordinating Committee

At-Large Members

René-Pierre Azria Roberta S. Baruch Richard L. Berkman Ned Dubilo Marvin Israelow Martin Krall Anthony E. Meyer Ben A. Plotkin Debra Smith Saidoff Jeffrey E. Stone

Commission Chairs

David W. Inlander Robert E. Lapin Kim J. Pimley Allan J. Reich

Honorary Presidents

Stanley M. Bergman Robert H. Elman Howard I. Friedman E. Robert Goodkind Alfred H. Moses Bruce M. Ramer Robert S. Rifkind Richard J. Sideman Harold Tanner The Honorable Barack Obama The President The White House Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Obama,

On behalf of AJC, which has had the honor of working with your Administration for eight eventful years, we write to express our gratitude for your service to this great Nation and to wish you every success in the years to come.

As nonpartisan advocates of American pluralistic and democratic values, and of the security and well-being of the Jewish people, we look back on your Administration with admiration for its inclusiveness, its consistent outreach to our community and other minority communities, its leadership in combating anti-Semitism and other bigotries, and its determination to reassert principled American leadership in a fractured, troubled world. Domestically, in an era of racial tension, you sought to heal – and at the precipice of depression, you oversaw recovery. Internationally, you sought to reverse a decline in perceptions of America by emphasizing "soft power" and "smart power" over military intervention, and diplomacy over unilateralism.

While we were disappointed, as you well know, over the 2015 Iran nuclear deal and your decision last month to permit an unbalanced resolution on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict to be adopted by the UN Security Council, we remain grateful for your strong and steady support for Israel's security and for an enhanced U.S.-Israel alliance throughout your Presidency. With sincere appreciation, we recall – among other achievements – your decision to boycott the April 2009 UN Durban Review Conference (as AJC, invited to consult the White House at the time, had urged), your Administration's successful push to convene unprecedented UN discussions on anti-Semitism, the intensification of intelligence and defense cooperation with Israel on your watch, the \$38 billion military aid Memorandum of Understanding signed last fall, and numerous instances of U.S. resistance to UN and other international efforts to single out, delegitimize, and impose political pressure on Israel.

For this substantial record of accomplishment, and for the grace and thoughtfulness with which you have borne the burdens of office, we and our Nation remain in your debt.

With our best wishes to you and your family,

Respectfully,



Jacob Blaustein Building 165 East 56 Street New York, NY 10022 T 212.751.4000 **w** ajc.org

John Shapiro

David Harris

John M. Shapiro President

David Harris

Chief Executive Officer Edward and Sandra Meyer Office of the CEO

Chair, Board of Governors

Harriet P. Schleifer

Chair, Board of Trustees

Matthew Bronfman

Matthew J. Coen

Chair, Marketing and Communications

Henry Dubinsky

Chair, Audit Committee

Suzanne D. Jaffe

Treasurer/Secretary

Associate Treasurer/ **Budget Committee**

Linda Mirels

Associate Chair, **Board of Trustees**

Robert L. Newmark

Chair, Leadership Development

Michael L. Tichnor

Chair, Regional Offices

Steven J. Wisch

Associate Chair,

Board of Trustees

Steven L. Zelkowitz

Chair, Program

Coordinating Committee

At-Large Members

René-Pierre Azria

Roberta S. Baruch

Richard L. Berkman

Ned Dubilo Marvin Israelow

Martin Krall

Anthony E. Meyer

Ben A. Plotkin

Debra Smith Saidoff

Jeffrey E. Stone

Commission Chairs

David W. Inlander

Robert E. Lapin Kim J. Pimley

Allan J. Reich

Honorary Presidents

Stanley M. Bergman

Robert H. Elman Howard I. Friedman

E. Robert Goodkind

Alfred H. Moses

Bruce M. Ramer

Robert S. Rifkind Richard J. Sideman

Harold Tanner